Pump Up Songs: Rock Edition

So about a week ago, (Insert Bobby Shmurda reference here), I published an article about my favorite NHL jerseys. So it got me thinking,Jack what are your favorite pump up songs? So I decided to create a list of my list of the ones pertaining to rock. And for those of you who don’t know, my name is indeed Jack.

5. Livin On A Prayer by Bon Jovi- If this classic song doesn’t get going then you need to seek help. The story of Tommy and Gina is exhilarating and unreal, they gotta hold on to what they got. Listen to this before a big playoff tilt and you will be shaking. Been a Bon Jovi fan for years now, and let’s say this is a personal favorite.

4. One Of A Kind by Breaking Point- I was introduced to this back in the days of Rob Van Dam. RVD, a favorite wrestler of mine, to this day still uses this as his entrance music. You know business is about to pick up when this jam hits.

3. Kickstart My Heart by Motley Crüe- When a song starts off with the lyrics, “when I get high I get high on speed”, something big is about to happen. This Crüe classic has been in the playlist since my pee-wee hockey years. First time I heard it was at a B’s game, and well I fell into its sound.

2. Enter Sandman by Metallica- Yeah, this was tough to give the 2 spot too. But it came off the album when everyone said Metallica sold-out. Don’t care about all the politics this is a jam and a half. Not sure why it comes in second but it does. Enter night, exit light, still to this day gives me goosebumps.

1. The Game by Motörhead- If this wasn’t on your pre-game playlist, you probably never played in a big game. Lemmy and the boy’s hard hitting track has been a pre, post and in game staple of mine for years now. Just a metal anthem that ceases to age. I’ll listen to this before a game, practice or a big meal just to get myself hyped up. Jam to end all rock pump up jams.

Honorable Mention

  • Hope by We Came As Romans
  • Cult of Personality by Living Colour
  • Bodies by Drowning Pool
  • Sail by AWOLNation
  • Bulls on Parade by Rage Against The Machine
  • Hell Yeah by Rev Theory
Leave a Reply

