Derrick Rose Is A Pussy

Image courtesy of the ChicagoMag site.

Derrick Rose of the Chicago Bulls made a statement this week that is alarming to the Chicago Bulls organization and fan base. To be quite honest, to sports fans everywhere these statements should strike you as frustrating and selfish.

“I think a lot of people don’t understand that … when I sit out it’s not because of this year….I’m thinking about long term. I’m thinking about after I’m done with basketball”, said the 26 year old star among other things when asked about how his body has been feeling recovering from injury. Hey D-Rose my pops works upwards of 70 hours a week every week fighting fires and doing every other odd job that makes money, and believe me I am sure he would love to say “eh I don’t really feel like it today, I have my future body to worry about” but then he would have four hungry children, a sad dog, and a very pissed off wife. Buddy, you work 7 hours a week MAX and you work only during the basketball season, get a grip of reality and stop being a selfish little baby.

I would like to personally sit down Derrick Rose in front of my television and show him one quarter of an NFL football game and have him make these same outrageous statements to my face. Hell, I’ll have him watch the first five minutes of the upcoming B’s v Habs matchup and I could almost guarantee that he will happily lace up his shoes and play basketball with a smile after seeing those two teams ruthlessly kick the shit out of each other up and down the ice. Basketball is a physically demanding sport and just as with any sport injury is a concern, however, how many basketball players do you hear about who have injuries that have severely affected their life in the long term? Oh that’s right you don’t.

If I were Jerry Reinsdorf, owner of the Chicago Bulls, I would be scrambling to get Derrick Rose as far away from my team while he still has any value whatsoever. The way I interpreted these statements is Derrick Rose sounds like he is trying to break up with basketball all together. It’s like that girl that you really wanted to hookup with and once you do you realize she’s not all that great, so you start trying to give her reasons to break up with you so you’re not the asshole; in the end no matter how much you coward around it you always end up pulling the trigger and being the bad guy. Just how these things work. Another reason Chicago should send him packing is because nobody wants a teammate who only wants to play on his terms when he feels like it, it will eventually cause some serious problems in the club house. Remember when Josh Beckett said, “Baseball isn’t my No. 1 priority anymore”? Red Sox had him out as soon as they possibly could because if your job is not your priority you will simply not be successful. If I were Derrick Rose I would play my ass off and get this team a ring to make up for these statements before he becomes a nobody in this league.

3 thoughts on “Derrick Rose Is A Pussy”

  1. Great article although I have to disagree. Derrick Rose is a former MVP of the NBA, I don’t care if he’s missed two seasons due to injury, if you have the former MVP under contract for a few more years you’re not gonna send him packing. And to your comment on the affect of his stament on his teammates, do some research. Every single Bulls player supports D-Rose and his decision to sit out games, guys know he wants to win and trust that he is going to show up when they need him the most. He’s got the backing of his team as well as his coach, and the way the media is spinning his comments (D-Rose is a pretty reserved, honest and straightforward guy) make him seem like he doesn’t care about basketball anymore. D-Rose has the drive of a champion, and a passion for the sport of basketball. He’s a unique talent that makes everyone around him better, and a guy that ANY coach or GM would snatch up in a minute, past injuries aside. Once again I think it’s a great article you wrote but I couldn’t disagree more.

    Like

  2. Passion? Sure. Drive? Maybe. Toughness and grit? Absolutely not.

    Time to get off of your crutches and start playing. You’ll never really be in game-ready shape if you’re taking 3/4 of the season off because you’re “still a little sore”. I used to be a huge Rose fan, I booked a trip to see him play today against the Clips. Tired of reading that you’re “playing it safe” and being cautious returning from injury. We’re 3 weeks into the season and you’ve only played for five minutes because you’re too scared to play through a little pain. Pretty sad when you can’t even give your fans the effort of an honest try at getting on the court. You’re healthy, everyone in your team is sore from carrying your broken ass over to the bench. Suck it up and play on. Your fans spend a lot of money to support you and watch these games, and after wasting this trip to see you, and for being so goddamn tired of reading the same story every day, I’m no longer a fan of you. Fuck you, D Rose. You’re a whiny pussy.

    Like

  3. If you’re not going to give it your all then don’t take ALL THE MONEY. if this prick couldn’t play basketball he’d be on welfare sucking off that teet

    Like

Leave a Reply

